Mid-Century Dresser turned Sideboard

Last year was my year to discover Annie Sloan Chalk Paint and actually paint some pieces that I really needed in my house.

For years we have only had a table in our dining room. While there is nothing wrong with having just a table, I have really wanted a hutch or other piece to store dining room linens and just clear some clutter from the kitchen.

At the end of the summer I stopped by my friend’s garage sale and found a perfect mid-century modern triple drawer dresser she had for sale. I didn’t know for sure if it would work in the dining room, but I knew I could use the piece in multiple places in my house. My friend got this dresser from her grandpa and he was the original owner so it was in great shape.

Here is the before picture, texted from her phone to mine!

photo (2)

I wasn’t sure at first if I would change the pulls on the drawers or not. After looking at the drawers and thinking of all the work it would take to move the pulls to a different spot, I decided to just spray paint them.

I had been wanting to use French Linen since I saw it on some samples in the store.

source

I need to get better at taking “during” pictures, but I worked on this off and on during the fall and had it done right before Christmas.

It’s perfect for the dining room! I now have a place for placemats, tablecloths and napkins. Since there are so many drawers, we put art supplies in the bottom drawers to make it easier for Isabelle to keep that all organized.

Here is what it looks like now:

ASCP: French Linen Dresser

I used an oil-rubbed bronze spray paint for the handles and am happy with how they look like against the gray. The chalkboard I made from an old picture someone gave me and I’ve been having fun finding new things to draw on it.

Surprisingly it hasn’t felt as cramped in the dining room as I thought it would be, which is nice.

I’m linking this to a couple of Link Parties this week so next week I’ll finally show you the desk I worked for the guest room.

Linking to:

Shades of Amber

DIY Show Off

Read more at http://diyshowoff.com/2013/02/10/that-diy-party-3/#8u0EqlJI5zW0uVZ8.99

 

2 thoughts on “Mid-Century Dresser turned Sideboard

  1. Solid wood furniture is so versatile and durable. It is amazing how a paint of coat has completely transformed the unit into an elegant side table. The best part is, if you decide to redecorate you can move the unit as is into another room or repaint again to be incorporated into a bedroom or guest room.

Leave a Reply

