Fun Superbowl Food

Last year I got a deal on Every Day with Rachel Ray Magazine so I’ll be getting the magazine for the next couple of years. It’s been fun to pick out a recipe or two from each issue to try out.

In her January/February issue she highlighted snack dishes that played off the “bowl” idea of the Superbowl. All the snacks had an edible bowl as part of the dish. I was trying to decide between two snacks to bring to the party we were going to and Tim wanted to eat both so I went ahead and made both dishes.

Amazingly I was able to make both between church and the game and we even made it on time!

I started with the Garlic Bread Bowl with Spicy Pizza Dip. It turned out really good and I’m a sucker for a bread bowl. But, I didn’t get any pictures since I was too excited about my next snack.

My second snack was a Chocolate Peanut Butter Bowl. Look at this goodness:

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bowl: Rachel Ray Mag

I’ve seen the cake competition shows where people use Rice Krispie treats to give cakes strong structure, but I had never really thought about using them for other things. The bowl was actually super easy. You make the treat mixture and I made sure that I was chilling it long enough. The dip is basically a peanut butter whipped cream and its a wonderful complement to the rice krispies. It was a lot of fun to sit there and rip apart the bowl to eat the dip. Definitely the hit of the party.

I’d be curious to figure out a nut-free alternative because it’s just a great snack. This dish will for sure be on my list of go-to party snacks.


One thought on “Fun Superbowl Food

Leave a Reply

