Sewing to help: School Kit Bags

New Normal: School Kits for Refugees

I was having a conversation with my brother this fall and we got to the topic of sewing things for different causes. I love that there are groups that work to provide pillowcases and blankets for hurting people. I think I mentioned that I’d like to know what to do when I see fabric on sale or if I have a lot of extra fabric from a project.

He works for Mennonite Central Committee and mentioned that one of the things they provide in their relief work are school kits for kids. One part of the school kit is a handmade drawstring bag.

These bags are real simple and it looks like you could get three bags out of one yard of fabric depending on how the fabric is cut.

There are a variety of kits that MCC creates if you are interested in helping out. These would be a good idea for an outreach through your church or a similar group.

 

 

Leave a Reply

