Finished in 2012

I’m sad to say that this is the first quilt I’ve finished this year. And it’s November. <sad face>  To my credit, I do have a one year old and a 4 year old, life is finally figuring itself out.

So, one of the moms in my MOPS group is having her second baby any minute now and we had her shower this morning. I decided kind of last minute to make her a quilt.

I searched Pinterest and found this cute design through the Riley Blake blog. It was a simple quilt and only had a few time consuming elements.

The nursery is a yellow/gray theme and I started with the swirl fabric that has yellow, gray, and pink. Once I saw the pink added I knew it would be perfect and worked on finding all the colors to work together.

This is the first quilt I’ve finished that has a border so I completely spaced that I didn’t need to quilt on the border fabric. Oh well, it looks cute. I also got a new walking foot for my machine and it works wonders. I love machine quilting now- I have three quilts that I can’t wait to put together. To save time I also machine sewed the binding down, normally I would hand stitch it but I didn’t want to give her a blanket and take it right back.

Here is a close-up of the back.

 

I have a busy couple of weeks with family coming in town and then all the fun of the holiday season, so maybe I’ll be able to squeeze in some sewing/crafting/DIY time here and there.

2 thoughts on “Finished in 2012

Leave a Reply

