Garage Sale find

A couple of weeks ago I decided to stop at a garage on my way home from errands. I’ve been reading a lot of DIY blogs so I have a small list of things I’d like to find.

I was so excited to find a small desk that will be perfect for our guest room. Currently we have a tall dresser that is completely empty. It is part of the bed set for the bedroom, it was given to us so I’m not really attached to the set at all.

After seeing all these decorating blogs I have been thinking I’d like a desk in the room to act as a vanity and maybe find or make a large mirror.

Here is the desk I found:

I really want to try out Annie Sloan Chalk Paint on this. I know I don’t have to sand a piece when using ASCP but it’s pretty beat up. I got the top sanded to smooth out all the ridges. The rest may actually look ok with a good washing. I am going to change the top drawer hardware, but see what I can find for the bottom drawers.

My next step is figuring out what color I want to paint it. I love white furniture, but am not sure if I want to branch out at all. I’m going to paint the walls of the guest room a brown color that is in the rest of the basement, so I want it to look good with that.

We have some other parts of our house that are a priority in fixing and decorating, so hopefully I can get this finished without having it sit in our garage forever.

Any suggestions or options for this piece?

3 thoughts on “Garage Sale find

  1. That will be great for a vanity! I can picture a nice big mirror over it.
    Are the color of the walls a dark brown or a light brown? I think if the walls are dark you want to paint the dresser something lighter, maybe to brighten up the room and make it stand out. I would also change out the hardware.
    I hope you post an “after” picture. 🙂

  2. This is the perfect piece to rehab! You don’t have a million layers of polyurethane to sand through and you could go so many different directions with it (but I’m secretly rooting for a vanity.) I can’t wait to see the after photos!

Leave a Reply

