Currently in training

Today Tim and I were supposed to start our training to run a 1/2 marathon. “Were” is the operative word. First day and we already failed. whoops.

I decided after Christmas that I may want to run a half marathon someday. I started looking around online but didn’t really think about it too much. I thought we would run one in June in Denver, but after checking up on that one, I realized it got moved to October. After looking some more, I found a perfect one here in town!

We are going to be running in the Zooma Women’s Race Series (yes, they do take men’s registrations- Tim is allowed to run). According to my calculations we have 16 weeks to train for this, so I’m pretty sure that gives us plenty of time to work up to running 13 miles.

I’m actually looking forward to it! Surprise, surprise. We started running a weekly 5k last summer and I think so far I’m in even better shape that I may actually be able to run that whole thing without stopping!

Each week I’ll be posting what my schedule is and how I did the week before. I have adapted this a little from Hal Hidgon’s training program (I had to repeat some weeks to stretch it to 16).

This week looks like so:

Monday- 3 mile run

Tuesday- 5k running club

Wednesday- 2 mile walk (supposed to snow- will probably do 30 minute aerobics on Wii Fit)

Thursday- rest

Friday- 30 minute walk

Saturday- 4 mile run

Sunday- Stretch and Strength.

I have a couple of other specific reasons that I’d like to run this, so I’ll be adding those to a post later on. Wish us luck and if you live in town you should join us!

3 thoughts on “Currently in training

  1. Janelle says:

    Congrats, Amy! That’s awesome! I used Hal’s training schedule a little bit, too. It’s pretty good to start. Looking forward to hearing your progress!

Leave a Reply

