Baby Shower Tea

Yesterday was a pretty busy day. Mostly because our small group threw a baby shower for one of the new moms in our group.

We decided to have fun and be fancy.

Here’s our table with all the food (there was a lot for only five of us!):

I made the centerpiece. I had a vase from a wedding I went to, they were letting people take home the arrangements so I grabbed one to use the vase and foam one day. I think that was like 5 years ago. This weekend is the first time I used it.

Then we spent our time relaxing, eating and talking. Here’s what I made.

I was thinking about making scones since you can’t have tea without scones! I didn’t want to pay for the ones in the store. They are always too expensive and don’t make very many. I had pretty much decided that I wasn’t going to make those when Monica posted about her daughter’s tea party. I checked it out and got very excited to see a basic recipe with a chocolate chip variation.

You need to check these out!

They seriously took me back to my college Coffee Cottage days. (this link has a short, kind-of funny Chapters vs Coffee Cottage debate on it…). I haven’t had a good chocolate chip scone since that time so this is now added to my breakfast baking list.

3 thoughts on “Baby Shower Tea

  1. Joani says:

    That centerpiece is amazing. Where did you get the flowers and learn to make those? And I’m still a coffee cottage girl – chapters came along too late to get my vote =). The argument was a bit funny, though!

  2. I bought the flowers at Safeway- it was just one of their bunches that you can buy.
    I actually learn a little about arranging in college. I helped out a couple times with the florists at church my senior year. Bet you didn’t know that! 🙂

    I don’t know if I arranged it completely “correctly”, but it’s always fun to do something like that.

Leave a Reply

