I’m being brave here…

At the beginning of the fall I randomly decided to look into what it would cost to put Isabelle in swim lessons. We swam a couple of times this summer and she really liked the water, so I thought it would be a good idea.

The city pool has a great program for mom and baby classes that run from 6 months to 3 yrs old. I checked the website in time to get her into the last session for the under 12 month group.

Before we could start swim lessons I needed to take care of one important item. I didn’t have a swimsuit! The last one I bought was in college and I don’t remember wearing one in the last 8 years! So, I headed to the mall. I think I hit the last weekend that suits were available because there were hardly any available. I lucked out and found a Land’s End tankini for cheap at Sears. I’m still a little shocked that I actually got in the pool twice a week with two other moms that were wearing tiny swimsuits and looking like they were never even pregnant! But you know, Isabelle doesn’t know or care and had a lot of fun in her lessons.

Here are the two pictures that Tim took on our first night of classes. We went twice a week and mostly worked on jumping in, kicking and getting their ears used to being underwater. Plus, she got to splash a lot which is now her favorite thing to do in the tub.

Here we are, getting ready to go in. Yes, she is wearing a two-piece! My Grandmother (and mom) would not approve!

After getting used to the pool we would spend time swimming around the river.

At the end of our 5 weeks of classes Isabelle got her first report card! It was pretty funny that they gave the babies a certificate of completion with “grading” on the back. She got 4 “excellent”s and 2 “passing”. What!?! She didn’t get straight A’s!! Apparently they don’t humor moms of infants and make them seem perfect. [wink, wink]

I guess we need to spend the “off season” practicing her kicking.

2 thoughts on “I’m being brave here…

  1. Megan says:

    Oooo, I totally miss that pool. We had the habit of going to half-price family nights there on Wednesdays the last year were were in the Springs.

    sniff, sniff

    But Isabella – sooo cute!

  2. Kristin says:

    Great job Isabelle! Funny that you posted this, we took our first swim class with the twins yesterday! We forgot to bring the camera, though. I can only hope that our sessions go as swimmingly! Ha!

Leave a Reply

