I actually mixed spices

When I met Tim (7 years ago- wow) he made three meals. Tacos, chicken and rice, and, ok, maybe two meals. And this is what I learned. You only make tacos with Lawry Burrito seasoning. No taco seasoning, no other brand burrito seasoning, it’s his brand or nothing.

It’s never really mattered to me what we use, so I just kept buying what he liked. When Costco opened in March I noticed that they have bulk spices. No Lawry’s Burrito. So I decided we should try what they do have from the grocery store to see if I could save some money with buying the big spices.

And guess what, I actually got Tim to try a new brand of spice. That’s what being married to me has done. He now shops around before buying and tries new brands to save money (that’s a big deal people!). The new brand didn’t pass our test- both of us thought the tacos tasted funny- so it was back to Lawry’s.

Until a couple of weeks ago. Our local grocery store recently remodeled and for some reason took our favorite Burrito seasoning away! Ack! What do I do?  I really wanted tacos tonight and didn’t want to run to another store just for some seasoning so I looked up recipes.

After that incredibly long story this is the recipe that I found. I think we liked it so much that I probably won’t even buy the store stuff anymore!

Taco Seasoning Blend from About.com

  1. Spoon 1 tablespoon of minced dried onions in a small bowl or cup.
  2. Add 2 teaspoons of chili powder.
  3. Add 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt.
  4. Add 1 teaspoon of garlic powder.
  5. Add 1 teaspoon of cornstarch.
  6. Add 1 teaspoon of ground cumin.
  7. Add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper or hot paprika. (I used regular paprika- I don’t know if there is a difference).
  8. Stir to blend.
  9. Makes the equivalent of a 1 1/4-ounce package of taco seasoning mix.

I added 1 cup of water to 1 pound of browned ground beef and let it simmer until the water burned off.

Add your favorite taco toppings and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “I actually mixed spices

  1. Aunt Susan says:

    Devonne and I were just talking about our “Make a Mix” cookbooks that we have had forever . . . The mixes do taste better plus you have control over the ingredients.

  2. Mmmm – I think I have all the ingredients for this! I’m so glad you posted it because I am a Lawry’s girl myself and was just contemplating mixing my own! Now I will try it since you both liked it as well! Thanks, Amy …

  3. Aunt Devonne says:

    I love the “Make a Mix” cookbook that Aunt Susan was refering too. I use their taco seasoning mix whenever we need toco seasoning. Instead of cayenne I use red pepper flakes. I love the fact that I know what ingredients are in my mix, instead of the packaged ones where you can’t even pronounce the words.

  4. Heidi says:

    Thanks Amy, I’m excited to try this one. I’ve experimented in the past with my own taco seasoning, but I’ve always just guessed. They turn out ok but it sounds like this one is really good! And I agree with Devonne…it is a good thing to know what is in your food!

Leave a Reply

