Add it to the list

I’ve got two lists that I keep in my head. The first is things I do because my mom taught me that way.

You know, like my obsessive need to have a clean house while traveling. No big deal, things on that list can be changed to some extent.

But my second list. It’s THE LIST. The one that every girl starts to make when she starts realizing she’s becoming her mother. This, like it or not, can’t be changed.

I can’t change the fact that I read every sign out loud while driving in new towns.

Or that I may just end up calling Isabelle “sister sue” (don’t ask, that was my nickname and I think my grandma called my mom that as well)

Or that I stop talking in the middle of sentences. That one’s pretty funny and it drives my brothers crazy that their sister and mom both do it.

Or that I stick out my tongue when I concentrate.

For the last ten years or so I’ll occasionally laugh to myself and add something to “the list”. Like last night.

Some of you may be able to see a funny interaction that happened over Facebook. I was looking through my cousins pictures of their new home. At the end of the album I made a comment about how neat the house was and asked about the road they live next too. My cousin answered the comment and I went on with my evening.

A couple hours later I got back on Facebook and noticed a comment had also been made on the pictures. At a quick glance I thought it was mine, until I realized that my mom left almost the same exact comment on a different picture! Word for word exact!  Even on the internet I can’t get away from being like my mom! (Don’t worry, I don’t mind being like my mom and we actually had a good laugh about it later).

And in case you were wondering, the road they live on is only busy during the work commute.

Leave a Reply

