mmm, mmm, good

We’ve lived in this house for 4 years now. Every summer I look at the backyard and watch the rhubarb plant grow in the “garden”. It’s a great little plot if I actually wanted to keep up with it. But I don’t, so I just watch the great plant that grows by itself and doesn’t need a person to help it along. Along with watching the plant grow, I say something every year about making something with all the rhubarb we have. And then I go back to whatever it was I was doing.

Something got into me tonight. I was staring the now giant plant and decided once and for all to make some rhubarb crisp for dessert. So with the steak on the grill I trotted down to the garden and pull some rhubarb. See, isn’t it pretty? And it’s free!

I went to the interweb before I “harvested” the rhubarb to find out what I should do. I learned that I should treat rhubarb like celery and that the leaves are poisonous. (But Tim already knew the poison part, his mom would tell him that growing up.)

I wasn’t sure if I picked good stalks or not, I tried to pick the pinkest ones I could find. I think I did ok, here’s my crisp, fresh from the oven. Oh, by the way, thank you Betty Crocker for the delicious recipe. I couldn’t have done it without you.

What better way than to enjoy your warm rhubarb crisp than with a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream!

Yum!

p.s. I definitely had seconds of this one! I resisted thirds and trust me, it was hard. This dish will be added to our “why didn’t I cook this earlier??” list.

6 thoughts on “mmm, mmm, good

  1. grandpachapman says:

    So you wait for me to leave before something gets into you! Can you send me some? Sure looks good. Dad

  2. This is SO cool. I had the same experience with our backyard apple tree a couple of years ago. We’ve been eating THE BEST applesauce ever since. Way to go!

  3. Aunt Susan says:

    Grandma Ankeny has a rhubarb crisp recipe in the Ankeny family cookbook if you want to try another one. I alter it and only make half of the crumb mixture – and just put it on the top. Somehow, crust on both the top & bottom seems like to many calories! Rhubarb is so easy to freeze too- just wash, cut and bag.

  4. Aunt Devonne says:

    It looks delicious! Grandma Ankeny would be sooooo proud of you! 🙂 Uncle Kenny’s grandma Hibbs would make strawberry/rhubarb pie. He liked that combination.

    I’m glad you had a great time with your parents.

    Aunt Devonne

Leave a Reply

