When will I learn?

I’ve been a stay-at-home mom for 5 and a half months now. 5 and a 1/2 months. Pretty crazy when I really think about it.

I noticed today that I have this little problem when I schedule out my day. I should know better by now but I just proved my point again. (note: this point was proven to myself, no gloating to anyone will be involved.)

As I think about what I need to do during the day some things are easier to do during Isabelle’s nap times than when she’s awake. So I ponder those while she’s up and try to think about which nap I’ll work on those things. Then you know what happens? She goes down for her nap and I decide to sit down for a minute before I take a shower (or whatever), next thing I know her nap is over and I’m still on the couch reading blogs or some other website. Drinking my coffee. Not running around the house like crazy cleaning up because our bible study is coming over tonight. Not getting out the chicken we are going to grill tonight. Not taking a shower and getting dressed. Not putting together a basket for a silent auction. Not… I’d better go now, my list is getting to me and I’m just sitting here on the internet!

4 thoughts on “When will I learn?

  1. militarywifey says:

    Greetings,

    I have the same EXACT problem. And I don’t know how to solve it. I know God should be first in our lives and I feel that as a result I am neglecting my obligation to keep the house clean and do housework type stuff (laundry, etc).

    Just in the same boat with you and I’ve been a SAHM for 14 and a half months:)

  2. Hi –
    I am a friend of Monica’s and found your blog through hers. I can so empathize with you! I do the exact same thing – and have decided to stop fighting the fact that I need some time to just sit – and allow myself to do just that. Enjoy that cup of coffee and have a good little break! 😉

    Have a great day!
    Rebecca

  3. Paula says:

    Let me tell you … I’ve been a SAHM for 17 YEARS and it’s still the same. Only now I don’t have nap time to get things done, I have SCHOOL time – and I’ve had SCHOOL time for, let’s see… 9 years! Oh my. Well, I do get a few things accomplished, I guess. And I do work part time now (from home mostly). My advice? RELAX. They are little such a short time, and if sitting with your coffee on the couch and connecting with your friends (phone, blogs, etc) keeps you sane, then by all means, cut yourself some slack. Stuff gets done. People will eat. Clothes get washed eventually. And besides, it’s all there needing to get done again tomorrow! Blessings on you and Isabelle, Amy. I love to see the pics!

Leave a Reply

