Our wedding

First of all, Janell you should subscribe to a feed reader so you can shortcut your way to reading blogs. I recommend Google Reader. You can subscribe to all the blogs you read and new posts show up on there instead of visiting individual blogs all day! Check it out, it’s awesome.

Ok, now Janell also wanted to know about how Tim and I met and tagged me on this meme. So I figured that people always like that subject so here goes!

1. Where / how did you meet your spouse? I had been living in Colorado for the summer and didn’t know too many people yet. A friend invited me to go to the Campus Crusade meetings at the college so I decided it’d be good to make friends. Tim was practically the first person to talk to me (he’s likes to make sure people are included). We interacted in a couple of different circles and eventually became friends.

2. How long have you known each other? 6 1/2 years

3. How long after you met did you start dating? 2 or 3 months, we had been “dating” a month or so before we had our “official relationship” talk.

4. How long did you date before you were engaged? 1 year, Tim proposed on Sept 10th. My parents had arrived in town the night before and he didn’t want to propose on Sept 11th and he couldn’t wait any longer than that. I thought he was still saving money for the ring.

5. How long was your engagement? 6 months

6. How long have you been married? 5 years next month!

7. What is your anniversary? March 22, 2003

8. How many people came to your wedding reception? probably around 200 (funny, I didn’t change this from Janell’s answer!). We also had a reception in Colorado, there was maybe 100 people there.

9. What kind of cake did you serve? My mom’s friend made sheet cakes that were pre-cut and then I took a picture from Martha Stewart Weddings and she made an exact replica. It was awesome and had orchids on it. I loved it. After the wedding we realized we didn’t eat a whole piece (just the portion we cut). 6 months later we tried some of the frozen part, it was anti-climatic.

10. Where was your wedding? Newberg Friends Church

11. What did you serve for the meal? We had a buffet available. I don’t actually remember this at all. There were meatballs and fruit. There could have been crackers. We had a meal as part of our hotel package so we didn’t eat anything.

12. How many people were in your bridal party? 4 of my friends, our 3 brothers, 5 of Tim’s friends. We had a lot of fun.

13. Are you still friends with them all? Yes we are. I’m glad for that. It’s fun to know they were part of our day.

14. Did your spouse cry during the ceremony? I don’t think so. He may have a little when I was walking down the aisle. I almost cried when we were singing and I caught the eye of my brother. My brothers and I make each other cry pretty easily like that- it means we’re good friends I guess.

15. Most special moment of your wedding day? Probably when my dad said that he, my mom and my grandparents were giving me away. We didn’t know he was going say that and my grandma had passed away a couple weeks before the wedding.

16. Any funny moments? If you know Tim and I you know that there were a lot of funny moments. I giggled through the unity candle and we all had a blast taking pictures. We have some pretty fun pictures.

17. Any big disasters? The week of our wedding Denver had a giant blizzard and all flights were canceled for the entire week. Tim and his family drove to Salt Lake City to guarantee a flight to Oregon. Tim got a speeding ticket. We weren’t sure if any of the groomsmen were going to make it and we had to get a new candlelighter and scripture reader. All the groomsmen showed up when they originally were going to arrive. Everything was fine and people were all surprised that I wasn’t freaking out.

18. Where did you go on your honeymoon? Victoria Canada. We drove up there, and visited Seattle on our way home.

19. How long were you gone? One week. We got married over Tim’s spring break so we had to get home for him to go back to school.

20. If you were to do your wedding over, what would you change? I’m not sure. I know that I would pay attention more at the reception. I would also make a receiving line. We ended up with an impromptu receiving line at the cake table and we spent the whole time there instead of mingling.

21. What side of the bed do you sleep on? If you’re facing the bed I sleep on the left.

22. What size is your bed? King. Tim had a double bed before we were married and he still sleeps in the middle of our bed. If our bed was smaller we probably wouldn’t sleep very well. Plus, our dog Puddle likes to sleep between us.

23. Greatest strength as a couple? Laughter and a spirit of giving.

24. Greatest challenge as a couple? How to effectively budget and spend our money
25. Who literally pays the bills? I do, I love it. It’s not Tim’s strong point at all.

26. What is your song? Our Unity Candle song was “Your Song” by Elton John. That might be the closest we get to having a song- our friend Joel did a great job singing it.

27. What did you dance your first dance to? We didn’t dance, we did have a live band and my brothers danced with their girlfriends. My aunt jokingly made a comment to them and they thought she was serious and stopped. It was pretty funny.

28. Describe your wedding dress. White dress with a big skirt. It had embroidered swirls on it with pearls.

29. What kind of flowers did you have at your wedding? My family went to a local daffodil farm and had permission to cut them- we had vases of daffodils around the stage. I had white roses and my bridesmaids had flowers coming out of little purses.

30. Are your wedding bands engraved? No, I haven’t been able to wear my ring since about 6 months into my first pregnancy. I’m sad about it. If we had the extra money I’d just go ahead and get it resized to the next size up. But either way, they aren’t engraved.

Hope that’s all you wanted to know Janell! I’m all of you have learned a lot. I’m checking this off my posting list now!

One thought on “Our wedding

  1. janell says:

    yeah…thanks for sharing :). also, i think it’s funny that you mentioned google reader because i just figured it out yesterday. i had heard about it before, but being so computer stupid i couldn’t figure it out until yesterday. it is nice…now i just have to check the reader 3 or 4 times a day!

Leave a Reply

