learning to be a mom?!?!?!

Last week Tim and I were talking about things and he made a comment about figuring out how to be a mom. Baby is two months old now and things are settling down now with our schedules and such.
That comment got me thinking. My moment of realization came (which I’m sure every new mom has had at some point) that I’m not a babysitter. Until now my frame of reference for taking care of children has been to come into a home, play or sit with the kids, maybe put together a meal, and leave when the parents come back. I’ve never included cleaning a home, getting myself ready, making meals, grocery shopping, running errands, and working my home based business in that equation. I think we are used to each other enough now that I can run around the house working on things while she’s sleeping because I know how long she’ll typically sleep.
My biggest change is to not schedule my day around time but in nap segments and shoot for small goals during that time. I think I’ll get it figured out.

I’d like to leave you with yet another example of how the baby is definitely Daddy’s Little Girl. I’m going to need to intervene soon or she’ll start attending Star Trek Conventions.

Introducing, Darth Izzy:

5 thoughts on “learning to be a mom?!?!?!

  1. Hannah says:

    Amy, she is SO cute!

    I love your comments on becoming a mom. Before Gracie, I don’t think I understood how being a stay-at-home mom could possibly keep me busy all day long…now I am thankful for the days that I get a shower and dinner gets made. =)

  2. cherice says:

    I hear you on the learning process involved…it’s weird to finally be someone’s mom. But it’s good, too, and it gets easier (so far–I hear the teenage years aren’t quite so great sometimes!). Hopefully our little ones can meet sometime soon-ish! We’re back in Jersey, though.

  3. Kevin & Audra says:

    Oh my gosh Amy & Tim… She is beautiful!! I cannot wait to meet her. I love the light Saber (sp?) that’s great…

  4. Timmay! says:

    I am going to go out on a limb here, and propose that Isabelle is the most beautiful baby that ever lived!

    I may be a little biased though…

Leave a Reply

