Back in the saddle again

Well, we’re home- we made it safe and sound in between snow storms on Wednesday. There was supposed to be a big storm here yesterday and there wasn’t enough snowfall to cover the ground- which was fine with me because it meant I could take my post-christmas trip to Target. I think our family will open Christmas presents on New Year’s so we can buy all our gifts on sale!

Isabelle was great traveling and meeting her great-grandparents. She slept through both flights and adjusted well to sleeping in her carseat all week. Then we got home. The first night home she decided that she hadn’t gotten enough awake time that day and pretty much was up all night.

We’ve had in her the pack-n-play bassinet and every time we put her down she sleeps for about 15 minutes and then starts crying. I knew it wasn’t because she was on her back because she does pretty good sleeping that way. I noticed that she would start moving her legs and arms which would rock the bassinet back and forth. We haven’t tried her in her crib yet so I decided last night (at 12:30 AM) to see if the movement was bothering her. I set up the room- moved the heater, cleared out the crib and put her down. Guess what! It worked! I had to put her back to sleep after that so she slept there from 1:30 to 3:30, woke up to eat and then slept from 4:00 to 6:00! She fussed a little but without the movement she fell right to sleep. 6 weeks old and she’s now in her own room. Such a grown up.

My new thing to get used to is that she is starting to be more awake during the day- so now my schedule needs to reflect our playing together and when to just let her be awake on her own.

I have a couple more fun pictures of our trip- so I’ll get those posted soon.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “Back in the saddle again

  1. Luke Ankeny says:

    Just stick her in front of the t.v. when you need to get something done … oh wait … that’s in my list of not good things to do to your kids.

    Have fun with the more lively and awake Isabelle!

    Oh … and say hi to Chris for me!

Leave a Reply

