She’s growing

We had our two week appointment today- Isabelle has gained her birth weight back- yeah. She grew a 1/2 inch and her head has grown a tiny bit as well. At the last appointment the doctor still heard the murmur so we were referred to a cardiologist, but today he’s not sure he heard it (he had to listen through her pj’s ’cause she wouldn’t stop crying without the clothes on). We still need to go to the baby heart doc just to make sure, but it looks like the heart stuff just took a little longer than normal to close up.

I have been thinking a lot about my recovery this pregnancy. I didn’t realize how drugged I was after (and during) giving birth to Lucy. Add grieving on top of that and I wasn’t doing too well for a couple of weeks. I couldn’t walk too much, didn’t have energy, and cried all the time. Now I’m fine going out and walking, have energy except for the occasional nap, and have only cried three or four times (how long does that last?). Overall a much better experience. Sometimes I forget I am recovering since it’s such a different experience.

I feel like all I have to write about is this baby, but then I realized that’s all I’ve been doing for the last two weeks. So keep tuned in for all things baby until I actually get out and do things again.

2 thoughts on “She’s growing

  1. Megan says:

    That’s okay. All we want to hear about is the baby. 🙂 I’m glad to hear you are doing so well. The crying? Well, welcome to your new normal. (Just kidding) – By the time you stabalize you will be pregnant again and that process could go on for years…

    🙂

  2. martha says:

    you are witnessing one of the differences between bringing home a live baby and not bringing one home.
    joy is a great energizer, grief saps your energy (as you have learned). as for the tears, hormones often have a lot to do with that and they don’t always have much of anything to do with sadness. enjoy the experience, tears and all. m

Leave a Reply

