Internets, I need your help!

I’m having a crafty conundrum: what to do with our empty mocha powder jars. See, I inherited a “save-the-jar” trait from my Grandpa and just cannot throw away a good jar that could be used for something. He was a carpenter and anything he could find to sort nails was good for him- baby food jars and band-aid boxes were his fav. I know that he’d love these containers!

So my question is: What would you do with them??? I’ve got a collection of 6 or more now and here’s what they look like.

My main idea has been to save them for marker cans or something like that. But that will be three to four years before I use them. I could decoupage the outside or just pull the label off and leave them black. What to do??? (and I won’t be offended if you all think I should just throw them away- but in situations like this I always ask myself, “What would Monica do?“)

7 thoughts on “Internets, I need your help!

  1. Margie says:

    Amy…not sure if you remember how Grandpa would drill a couple holes in the jar lid, then hammer the lid to the underside of a shelf in his workshop, then when he put “whatever” into the jar, he would just screw the jar onto the lid and presto, it was out of his way but handy to get to when he needed it. Might want to take the label off so you can write on the black part what’s in the jar. Good luck!! Auntie “M”

  2. Carrie says:

    Jars are good for storing buttons. Or pins. Or other little things like that.
    Or…you can use them to store your coffee in, so it’s in a sealable container and doesn’t soak up fridge odors.
    Or you could decoupage them, like you mentioned, and put some flowers in them. Silk, or dried.
    How big are they? Could you melt some wax and turn them into candle holders? Know what I mean?
    Or you could save them up for the holiday season and use them as containers for giving cookies/candy as gifts. (Depending on how big they are)
    That’s all I got…sorry it’s not more! LOL
    God bless 🙂

  3. Aj Schwanz says:

    I can’t tell from the picture how big they are: that makes a difference. But I’m not worried: I have confidence in you, oh crafty one. 🙂

  4. thehomespunheart says:

    Those are neat! There are some good ideas above – what came to my mind was:

    Use for May Day flowers – paint or cover with paper and fill with soil and flowers

    Use to give a gift in – small goodies collected in here would be SO great! You could tie twine or ribbon around the outside and cut out an initial for the person receiving it to embellish it or something.

    I also love your idea of using them to store things like little girl craft supplies!

    You could make bath salts or something similar and fill it with that.

    You could even just fill with a plastic bag and a goodie bag of snacks to give to anyone as a small gift.

    What about making hot chocolate mix for Christmas gifts and putting it in here – you could tie a little clear bag of peppermint sticks to the outside and decorate with evergreen sprigs!

    I can’t wait to see what you do with these!!

  5. Gamajoba! says:

    So I finally have pics up of the nursery! I’ll keep you posted. They’re thinking she’ll come in the next week or so the way I’m progressing!

  6. Karen says:

    I would cover them in scrapbook paper/adornments and use them in the nursery for whatEVER I could think of. Three or five on a shelf would be adorable…maybe pins, cotton balls, etc. You could even label one and use it as a “first tooth” or “first haircut” along with a written account and save it as a keepsake for your new bebe!

Leave a Reply

