So many recipes, so little time!

This is my 200th post! Wow. 🙂 I don’t have a good “200 things about me” post to share, it’s probably good to spare you all the details.

My intended post is about the cookbook I just finished compiling for our family reunion next weekend. We have a reunion every 3 years and that’s most of the reason that I’m in Oregon right now. I just found out that a 2nd cousin of mine that I haven’t seen since I moved to Colorado will be there so I’m really excited.

Anyway, I spent this week formatting and arranging all the recipes from the last edition that was created in 1992. We added a bunch more recipes to this edition since the 3rd generation (myself and my cousins, etc) are all out on their own discovering their new favorite recipes. (Family tidbit- we’ll have 6 generations at the reunion- isn’t that crazy!) It’s been fun to see everything in one booklet even though it doubled in size and took me a week to finish.

I’ve also learned some about my family since people sometimes added thoughts to the recipe. So I’m going to include here my Grandpa’s favorite cookies. He died before my mom was married so I never learned this kind of stuff about him. Here is the recipe:

Soft Raisin Cookies

Cover 1-1/2 cups of raisins with water and cook 10 min. Drain. Reserve 1 cup water and mix in 1-1/2 tsp of soda. Let stand while mixing rest of ingredients:

1-1/2 cup sugar
1 cup shortening or butter
2 eggs
3 cups flour
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg

Add water & raisins. Spread batter on jellyroll cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 15-20 min. Frost with a powdered sugar frosting.

One thought on “So many recipes, so little time!

  1. denise says:

    So…ummm…do I have to be a family member to get ahold of one of those cookbooks??? Hmmm????

Leave a Reply

