Monthly check-up

I had my doctor’s appointment yesterday- the first one after my ultrasound and it was with a different doctor (mines on a medical mission right now).

Baby’s heart rate is 147 so she’s gone up a little bit.
My blood pressure is good but I never remember what it is.

That was pretty much my appointment. For some reason the doc was really busy so I waited a long time to meet with her. My ultrasounds are never boring and I kind of wish they were. This time around I found out that I have a low placenta- which I guess could lead to placenta previa. Basically this means that the placenta is on the wrong side of my uterus and could prevent me from having a normal delivery. The good thing and what everyone should be praying for 🙂 is that when this is diagnosed before 20 weeks (which I was) it usually corrects itself as the uterus expands. So that’s the main reason why I have to get a 2nd ultrasound in a couple of weeks. The docs aren’t worried at all- but she said that if I was at 35 weeks I’d be on bed rest and they’d be scheduling a c-section.
This whole process makes me feel sorry for the ultrasound tech- she can see that things are wrong with peoples babies and isn’t allowed to say a word.
Everyone asks me if I’m ok. I am, I’m just frustrated that I can’t seem to be “normal”. The only thing I don’t know is that I could’ve had the same thing last time, it’s just that my ultrasound was at like 23 weeks so things may have been fixed already.

So pray that my placenta moves- it’s kind of a funny prayer request, I don’t hear that one too often. 🙂 Since I’ll be monitored like crazy anyway I’m not too worried about my care if the problem doesn’t get corrected.

2 thoughts on “Monthly check-up

  1. Joani says:

    Can’t say that I’ve ever heard that prayer request before, either =). Can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

