Baking Time

Last night I decided to do something with the three old bananas I had on the counter. I haven’t baked Banana Bread in who knows how long so I decided to try it out. The first recipe I consulted required buttermilk and I didn’t want to go to the store at 9:00 at night, so I looked for another one.

I remembered that the very first time I learned to make banana bread was from this one cookbook I got when I was a kid. My Grandma Chapman taught me and my cousin Zach how to bake that day. I think it was the only domestic thing I ever did with her. 🙂 She taught me that in the depression you didn’t waste eggs and I had to scoop the extra egg white out of each shell. That didn’t help me when I worked at a camp and had to crack a bunch of eggs really quickly- they didn’t seem to care about saving egg whites.

Back to my story…

I found my cookbook, “Alpha-Bakery Children’s Cookbook”
There is a recipe for every letter of the alphabet, and the banana bread recipe didn’t need buttermilk (I was trying to remember how long I’ve had this book- it was published in ’87 and I think I got it in ’89- 5th grade)! I even used my high altitude baking conversions courtesy of a newspaper clipping and I created this:

It turned out perfectly and it was so good to eat at 4:00 in the morning as I was getting ready to go to work. Yummy!

4 thoughts on “Baking Time

  1. thehomespunheart says:

    Looks good! Did you know you can make your own substitute buttermilk by putting 1T and 1t vinegar or lemon juice in the bottom of your measuring cup and then filling up to 1 c. with milk?

  2. Mrs. Chappy says:

    I know I will see you and talk to you before you read this, but I just made banana bread last night too!

  3. Gamajoba! says:

    So I hope you are doing well! Noticed you hadn’t been on in awhile. Been thinking about you lots lately. Drop me a note!!

Leave a Reply

