Our Lady of Guadalupe

No, as the title implies I haven’t converted to Catholicism. Yesterday we got a call from our friend that the gardeners at Glen Eyrie were putting in the permanent rose bush for Lucy in the Rose Garden. In August when we had the service there it was not rose season so the gardeners couldn’t put in the bush that goes with the schematic. It’s rose season and the “good” rose is ready and in its permanent position. Fittingly for Mother’s Day (which we rebelled against by going to the Donut Mill instead of church), we got to pick up the first rose bush today and it now had a place on our back porch safe from the deer. The rose we got is named (you guessed it!) “Our Lady of Guadalupe”. Our porch will now be safe.
I’m going to transplant it to a large pot so we can take it with us if our house ever sells.

In other news, which I don’t think is really news to any of my readers, is that we’re pregnant again. We are 12 weeks along and due on Thanksgiving Day. We heard the heartbeat on Thursday. The nurse was funny and the first thing she said to me was “now don’t get nervous on me if I don’t find the heartbeat right away!” Then she ended up finding it so quickly that Tim wasn’t paying attention and didn’t hear it. It took her a bit longer to find the heartbeat a second time but it’s beating at a strong 158. I got over the nervous extreme panic after the first week I found out and I’ve been sick and tired enough that it’s been a good gauge for me. I think the hardest part is when people just jump right to us actually having the baby. Even at 12 weeks I’m still only able to take it a day at a time and not take anything for granted. We get our ultrasound June 18th which is a whole month earlier than the last pregnancy.

Hopefully I’ll start posting again more than once a week! Between sleeping non-stop, working my Arbonne business and working at Starbucks I tend to forget my connection to the blog world. We leave Thursday for my brother’s wedding in Oregon and will have a fun family-filled weekend away!

6 thoughts on “Our Lady of Guadalupe

  1. thehomespunheart says:

    Amy – I’m excited to learn of your coming baby. And, I’ll be praying for you during the coming weeks.

  2. Aubrey says:

    Congratulations – I’ve been reading your blog since you were pregnant before, and I’ll be praying for you and this little one who is coming.

  3. Stacey says:

    I’m on the CWO rolls and found your blog–what a wonderful tribute to your baby girl that is. And hooray for the strong heartbeat your new baby has!

  4. r.m. says:

    yay! praise the Lord for new life! ;o)

    so we will be trading time zones this weekend…i was excited to hear you were coming to OR (selfishly hoping i might be able to sneak a coffee date out of you or something), but then i realized i will be home next weekend ;o/ alas! perhaps our paths will cross sometime in the near future.

  5. martha says:

    our first daughter was stillborn (1970) and of course, we didn’t have all the helpful tracking that is available now. the (nearly) year of the second pregnancy was spent getting ready to go to jamaica as missionaries and adjusting to a new place. the good thing is that the time went pretty fast. i couldn’t really compare anything with the previous preganancy b/c all went well until the end. we just had to do what you are doing and plug on through that pregnancy one day at a time knowing that it was possible that it could happen again but praying it wouldn’t. now i can look back on great years of raising 3 daughters. our oldest living daughter is a missionary in kiev, ukraine.
    i think you are in the middle of what joseph went thro’ after he was captured and taken to egypt. he had those great dreams about his future, but all those years when things seemed to be going horribly wrong. he just keep plugging along, trusting God and doing what he knew god wanted him to do. eventually, the great and happy and wonderful things happened, but those years in prison built his character and his relationship with God. in some ways that is where you are as you wait. you will be in my prayers.
    i love the rose memorial for lucy.
    m

  6. Joy says:

    I am so happy to hear of your pregnancy! What wonderful news! I found your blog through a friend of a friend (or something!) and have been following along since the loss of Lucy. You (and baby!) are in my prayers!

Leave a Reply

