My Christmas!

After a week and a half of no blogging, I’ve got some catchin’ up to do.

My Christmas in Colorado was good, we survived the first blizzard just fine (although Starbucks didn’t; we ran out of mocha, white mocha and vanilla syrup the day after Christmas). Tim and I then drove to Idaho to spend Christmas with my family and my mom’s family. We stayed at my cousin’s apartment and then rest of the fam stayed with my aunt.

We ended up driving through the night before we had planned on leaving in order to beat out some storms. Since we were early we had Christmas with my family on the 27th. That was fun as well, I got my brother Volume 1 of Duck Tales and we spent the afternoon watching those!

Then, my entire family got sick. 9 people were in the same house throwing up all day on Friday. It was a little crazy!! My brother, uncle and myself were the only ones not sick that day. And there were a couple of times where both bathrooms were full and they had to find “alternate” locations. Some of my cousins were also sick throughout the week- so fortunately my aunt didn’t give us food poisoning. 🙂 So thanks Aunt Devonne for taking care of all the sickies!

Then on Saturday night we had our annual Ankeny Christmas. 10 years ago we started a new family Christmas tradition when the cousins outgrew drawing names. Each year we have a white elephant exchange. The twist for us is that every year we have to find gifts that start with a letter in the word “Christmas” and we’ve been spelling it ever since. To illustrate: the first year we had the letter “C” and the next it was “H” and so on. I think last year no one got together because this Christmas we finished the word with the last “S”. I got a “Shower Radio” and Tim got some terriyake “Sauce”.

It was good to see my family. Here are a couple of pictures from the big night, we are missing 15-20 family members in this picture of “all of us”:

Here are my cousins and our spouses:

And these are “the girls”. There are five kids in my mom’s family and 4 of them each had one girl. Christy, the pregnant one on the left is two years older than us and then my two other cousins and I were all born within 6 months of each other. It’s become a tradition to take this picture whenever we’re together and the last one with the four of us was at Christy’s wedding 9 years ago.

We missed the second blizzard to hit in a week and made it home on dry roads on New Year’s Eve! Now on to 2007!!

4 thoughts on “My Christmas!

  1. Gamajoba! says:

    Great Pics Amy!! You look great…

    Well, now that its not snowing crazy anymore, maybe I can make a detour to or home from work and come by and see you at your store. We can set a date to get together!!

  2. joyandryan says:

    Your family sounds like mine! Twenty of us were all pukey sick at my grandma’s house in Nebraska over New Year’s. And we, too, had a white elephant exchange, sans the letter rule. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  3. joyandryanwww.xanga.com/joyandryan says:

    Your family sounds like mine! Twenty of us were all pukey sick at my grandma’s house in Nebraska over New Year’s. And we, too, had a white elephant exchange, sans the letter rule. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  4. Anonymous says:

    It was a great time even tho the majority of us were sick that one day. A memory along with a few laughs we will not forget.

    Aunt D

Leave a Reply

