Trip to Oregon: Day One

I decided to recap my trip by each day- there were some pretty good stories on my trip.

I left Wednesday in the morning- my friend Debby drove me up to Denver. The liquid ban has been lifted some- but I checked my luggage anyway.

As I was checking my luggage I was showing the man my ID. When I made the reservation online I had accidentally used the profile of my maiden name to book the ticket. When I called the customer support of United, the service rep had such a hard time understanding what I was telling him that I wasn’t able to get my name changed on the ticket, and told me I’d be fine. Well, I wasn’t. A manager had to come and look at my driver’s license and then my only ID in my maiden name- my college ID card from Freshman year (8 years ago). That wasn’t recent enough for them so I had to go through the special security line. It was there that I had my first experience with “the puffer”. It’s this machine you walk into, then short bursts of air shoot out at you and then you stand there for a minute before it lets you out. I still don’t understand what it does.

Then came possibly the highlight of my trip- I saw a celebrity! I always wonder what it would be like to recognize a celebrity in the airport. There was actually two celebrities- of the reality TV genre. Who you ask? None other than The Bachelorette Trista and her husband Ryan!!!!! This was the one season of the show I really got into. Plus they live in Vail and everytime I’m in Vail I try to find them. All I could think about was calling my Eagle Lake buddy Jenny since she is probably the only one who truly appreciates my excitement. I rode a separate tram and we all got off at the United terminal, but they went the opposite way I did. I had to go walk off my excitement so I went and bought a soda.

I got my McDonald’s Orange soda and was getting ready to enjoy it and wait to board when I slipped on a puddle of water. Normally not too big of a deal, but I had my no-traction-whatsoever flip-flops on and fell to the floor. My bag broke my fall but I proceeded to have my drink go flying in front of me and I was also standing right by a nicer restaurant and I knocked over a metal easel with glass/plastic (wasn’t sure) framed sign on it. The easel almost hit a man that was sitting at a table, but fortunately did not. I felt ok but was totally embarassed about falling and mad that I didn’t get to drink my orange soda. By this time the line was so long at McDonald’s, that I settled for my favorite comfort food and got a scoop of ice cream to eat before I got on the plane.

So, once I landed, got to see my mom and be off my ankle for a while I had a pretty good rest of the day. Made it to the beach in time for Project Runway.

And that finished day one.

3 thoughts on “Trip to Oregon: Day One

  1. Anonymous says:

    Ahhh, some celebrity stress relief after the ticket craziness. Jenny totally would have loved that one!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Oh, and, P.S. – Hope your ankle is feeling better. Is it bad that I laughed at your falling debaucle? It reminded me of some slap-stick comedy! Definitely would be embarassing, but so funny after the fact. You should totally treat yourself to another orange soda now to make up for the one you lost.

Leave a Reply

