I saved a bunch of money on coffee by switching to Starbucks

I’ve been an official employee for 4 days now and have had a fun time doing so. I’m still in my training period- I’ve completed 4 shifts and 3 shifts to go. My first day was two shifts in one- consisting of reading and going through computer training slides (pictures of someone showing you how to take out the trash and wash a window). That was a long day. Then you get two shifts of practicing what you learned, so I work on the register, mark cups, clean the lobby and do any other “skill not required” jobs.
This morning I opened- wasn’t too bad, I had to be there at 5:30. Starbucks has all these safety rules to protect their employees, so I can’t get out of my car until someone else is there and two people have to go into the store together. The person with the key can’t go in until the other person shows up- so I think if someone is late we have to sit outside until they show up.
It’s fun to start a new job now that I’m older- you approach the whole job differently. I don’t think new people usually care about being at work so they are surprised that I’m actually learning and applying myself. Or maybe I just have a good memory and that surprises them.
Tomorrow I learn to use the espresso bar- kind of nervous about that, but we are a less busy store so I shouldn’t have to be learning with everything going really fast all the time (like the rest of the stores in the city).

There’s my report. Just the basics right now- since I’m cramming in the training I haven’t really done or thought about anything else. I’m sure I’ll start getting some fun stories after a while.
It’s been good to be working again in a fun environment and getting up with somewhere to go.

One thought on “I saved a bunch of money on coffee by switching to Starbucks

  1. Gamajoba! says:

    Glad you’re having a fun time with your Starbucks job! One of my sister-in-laws works with Starbucks in Denver and has loved it. She’s been with them for almost 5 years now and has been in management and just continues to love it. And since she gets a pound of coffee a week, she loves sharing with family. šŸ™‚ Hope it continue to go well for you!!

Leave a Reply

