I thought this only happened with kids

Last night at 1:30 in the morning I was headed down the freeway to the emergency room, with my dog. Never thought that would happen. Puddle had been consistently throwing up for almost 24 hours and we were going to let her ride it out- until she threw up blood. So I called the 24 hour vet number, they listened to the symptoms and had me bring her in.
I learned that there is at least one animal hospital in town that is only open at night- for animal emergencies. I guess there are enough of us out there that will actually bring their pet to the emergency room to create one for after hours. They even treat exotic animals!
She had to get an x-ray to make sure there was no blockage- but we think that she had just gotten incredibly dehyrated and just didn’t have any more to throw up. Tim’s comment in the car was “Was it worth paying $xx for peace of mind?” Still deciding on that answer!

My little introduction to how many times worse it will be to bring our kids to the emergency room in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

