Slightly Jealous

Now that both my replacements are here at work- I’ve noticed I’m having a harder time adjusting. 🙂 It’s not that I’m terribly sad I’m leaving- I’m looking forward to doing something different, but it’s when everyone moves on while I’m still here.

We are getting a new database- something I’ve been a part of pretty much for the past four years. We keep trying to make our own and then we’ve finally found a package product that will do what we need and more. Right when I leave. We hired a position just to replace me with the system administrator and being the contact on the conversion. He is doing a really good job and so now I just sit in my cubicle and work on the old system to get it ready.

I get really excited with new things and I don’t get to go to all the meetings and don’t really know what’s going on. So it makes me a little sad that I won’t be around after all this time and get to be a part of the transistion.

When I’m not in the “woe is me” mode, I’m extremely excited that we have found someone that is so capable to do this job that people seem to forget I’m still here. It means that the transistion will go well and that I probably won’t get many calls after I leave.

This morning I’m a little jealous- but I’m sure by the time I get home around 2:30 I’ll be feeling completely happy to be in the situation I’m in. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Slightly Jealous

  1. r.m. says:

    yay! i am in town for two weeks and then i’m heading off to honduras for awhile — but i’ll be back in late august…perhaps in time to see little lucy??? ;o)

  2. Craig says:

    The further you get from it, Amy, the more you’ll recognize how replaceable all of us are. That’s not to diminish your contribution, but rather to affirm that it’s not always about us.

    What’s important is transitioning well and setting up people to succeed. Oh, and preparing for what God has ahead. You’ll find the new groove.

  3. Craighttp://seconddrafts.wordpress.com says:

    The further you get from it, Amy, the more you’ll recognize how replaceable all of us are. That’s not to diminish your contribution, but rather to affirm that it’s not always about us.

    What’s important is transitioning well and setting up people to succeed. Oh, and preparing for what God has ahead. You’ll find the new groove.

Leave a Reply

