It all starts now

I don’t know if I want to post this because I freaked out when Tim told me the prayer chain was going to know, but there is something comforting about the abyss of the internet.

I met with my doctor today and got the results from my ultrasound. The baby is growing exactly how she should be and everything is in the right place. But, I have this super rare (we’re talking less than 1% all of single baby births) umbilical cord disorder. Umbilical cords have three blood vessels, 1 vein and 2 arteries, I only have a vein and an artery. Now I’m on fetal growth watch and have to have an ultrasound every four weeks until the baby is born. My doctor said that 9 out of 10 cases have no other complications- and since the baby was looking good two weeks ago he wasn’t overly concerned.

So what now? Well, I actually have to ask the doctor all the questions everyone else has for us. I didn’t really think of questions until after I started to tell people. I don’t know if I can do anything to prevent it from getting worse, not too sure how I got it, don’t know if it will happen for all pregnancies, don’t know what happens if she doesn’t grow right, and basically just have to wait until she is born to find any birth defects. So in August we’ll let you know how it all went.

But, we can pray that she grows fine and we are one of the 9 of 10. So here is the start of my life of “Mom worry, but knowing God’s in control”…

One thought on “It all starts now

Leave a Reply

