Making a home? Tonight I discovered the perfect wa…

Making a home?
Tonight I discovered the perfect way to grill steak. I thought I would share my secrets!

First defrost your meat right before you put it on the grill, the 30 minute marinade really only needs to be on for two minutes, so no real preparation is needed. Then only marinade one side, put that side on the grill and pour on the marinade on the exposed side (make sure you put too much on so that flames spark up when the sauce drops down). Cover the grill and check it once or twice while you make the potatoes, corn on the cob, juice and anything else. Call mom to ask how to cook corn on the cob, can’t reach her, consult Betty Crocker. Make sure that you start the corn too late to serve with the meal (Betty’s instructions don’t account for altitude), but just in time for when you finish the meat and potatoes. Then about 10 minutes later, check on the steak, see flames coming from the back and under the grill (towards the house, mind you), and take the steak off the grill before you worrying about the impending fire- you don’t want to overcook your steak. Try to contain the fire before you serve the meal. Note to self- clean out the grease trap from under the grill to prevent this from happening again. Surprisingly steak turns out “Fire Grilled” and tastes pretty good, charcoal and all!

And a week ago someone told me I was her homemaker hero- I’m still laughing about that one!

4 thoughts on “Making a home? Tonight I discovered the perfect wa…

  1. thehomespunheart says:

    Amy! This made me laugh – I was reading very seriously taking mental notes of how to grill the perfect steak. My first clue wasn’t until the flames were leaping toward the house! Glad it turned out good! πŸ™‚ We don’t have a grill, and I’ve never used one – so I’m sure that my experience would be worse than anything mentioned here!

  2. Amy says:

    Glad you caught the sarcasm! I posted it and then told Tim I didn’t think people were going to get it.

    But for a note on a serious way to grill steak- Lawry’s Baja Chipotle Marinade is awesome! We use that every time and the steak is very good.

  3. Megan says:

    Yeah, I thought you were seriously telling us how to make a great steak too until I read the part about not reaching your mom on the phone… πŸ™‚

  4. The Sullivans says:

    heehee, I knew you weren’t serious after I looked at the date. πŸ™‚
    I guess that’s not fair. but it was a good stake you say…

Leave a Reply

